50 Most Powerful Images of the Civil War…. hmmm; methinks some are missing

Posted on February 6, 2012 by

2


The Atlantic put out a series of images from the Civil War that they consider among the most powerful. Certainly, I agree with some, but I think their list also falls short. In fact, there are several images that are pre-war, and as far as the actual time of the war goes, I think others would be more powerful than some that they included. For one, I see no images of the dead in their list. There’s no doubt that those images hold an incredible amount of power. Just as examples, here are two…

But then too… I see nothing that portrays the story of Southern Unionists. While it’s no surprise that I would pick up on this, well, I’m disappointed. Under this category, I’ve got some suggestions…

It IS wartime… having been published in Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper, in 1864. What does it show? Why, it’s the mass hanging of Southern Unionists, in Gainesville, Texas, of course.

This is another favorite of mine…

Granted, this is postwar (1867), but it appeared in The Thrilling Adventures of Daniel Ellis… more about Southern Unionism.

And, what about this image…

… which shows Unionists refugees who moved from Georgia to East Tennessee… and are vowing their allegiance…

There are more, of course, but…

While I think it’s a no-brainer that the images of the dead should rank in the most powerful images, regarding the Southern Unionists… simple oversight, or reflective of the manner in which Southern Unionists are outright forgotten in the overall “memory of the war”?