Some shots from yesterday’s Loudoun Heights Sesqui Event

Posted on January 12, 2014 by

2


I greatly enjoyed the chance, yesterday, to be part of the Loudoun Heights 150th commemorative event. It was nice to speak about my perspective, as a relative of two of Cole’s men… and I was glad to share the experience with one other descendant (friend, Mark Dudrow) of one of Cole’s men (Abraham Dern), who was there.

There I am... at the event, making a presentation at the old St. Paul's Church.

There I am… at the event, making a presentation at the old St. Paul’s Church. Mosby’s men actually stopped at this church, for a while, before continuing on to the attack on Cole’s Camp. Thanks to blogging pal Craig Swain for this photo… we had some good discussion regarding the fight here. 

In my presentation, I pointed out… I was a Southerner, speaking about Southern men who opted to wear Union blue. Most of these men in Cole’s Battalion were not “Yankees”, but were Southerners… many born south of the Mason-Dixon Line, including my third great grand uncle, born in nearby Shepherdstown. Additionally, this ground, at Loudoun Heights, wasn’t foreign to these men… many were well acquainted with the general area. In many ways, to some of these men, this was home turf. I joked… though the Mosby Heritage Area was putting on the event… I welcomed folks, at the beginning of my presentation, to “Cole’s Heritage Area.” :)

Major Cole's HQ, looking at it from the north side.

Major Cole’s HQ, looking at it from the north side.

After the presentations, we were able to visit Major Cole’s headquarters, located on the right (if you are coming in from the north) of the Harpers Ferry Road. As this is a private home, this was quite the treat!

Cole's HQ, looking at it from the south side. Note what might be the wartime road grade, next to the stone wall.

Cole’s HQ, looking at it from the south side. Note what might be the wartime road grade, next to the stone wall.

from the porch of Cole's HQ, looking toward the campsite of his battalion... which is also the battlefield.

Looking from the porch of Cole’s HQ, looking toward the campsite of his battalion… which is also the battlefield.

The above image is particularly important to me… especially now, as I’ve learned some information about cousin James D. Moore, who was camped just within sight of this porch, probably somewhere to the left in this image, in that field. I’ll mention more about this in another post.

My Cole's Cavalry kepi, hanging on the fireplace, inside Cole's HQ.

My Cole’s Cavalry kepi, hanging on the fireplace, inside Cole’s HQ.

Better than a “selfie”… I took this shot of my Cole’s Cavalry kepi, having at the fireplace in Cole’s HQ. You might note, I used the “B” as an identifier to the company in which my kin served. When I took this picture, to my back was the room in which Capt. Gallagher (quite a courageous fellow, considering his feat at Berryville) was recovering… still, from his broken leg, from October.

Looking from the south, toward Cole's Camp. Mosby attacked from the northwest end of the camp, so... somewhere toward the left-back, in this image.

Looking from the south, toward Cole’s Camp. Mosby attacked from the northwest end of the camp, so… somewhere toward the left-back, in this image.

This is prime real estate… saved from development. In this field, between 150 and 200 of Cole’s men were camping… when about 100 of Mosby’s men attacked.

As I said, I’ll have more to say about this field in another post. I just wanted to enter a quick post, and share some of the views from the day.

