Tomorrow’s Loudoun Heights Sesquicentennial event

Posted on January 10, 2014 by

2


LoudounHeightsMarkerThough the 150th anniversary of Loudoun Heights is today… the actual commemorative event takes place tomorrow, January 11, 2014. As I’m related to two of Cole’s men (distant granduncle, Joseph Lake McKinney, and cousin James Draper Moore), I’m particularly honored to be a part of the event. I am slated to speak, for about 15 minutes, about the casualties from Cole’s Cavalry.

The event, sponsored by the Mosby Heritage Area Association, will be held, 11 a.m., at the Christian Community Church at St Paul’s (12623 Harpers Ferry Rd., Purcellville, Virginia). Following the presentations, there will be a “car caravan” to the site of Cole’s Cavalry encampment and headquarters. As I understand it, the cost will be $10, and $5 for students. Lunch will be available for purchase at the church.

If you are in the area and can make it, please do so. As always, I’d be delighted to meet some of my readers!

