“Grace”

Posted on July 3, 2013 by

8


Today marks the fourth and final day for my Gettysburg Sesqui experience. I’ve seen many sites, making a point of it, to the best of my ability, to be at sites where my kin were involved in the horrors of the battle. For example, last night, I stood on East Cemetery Hill, where my kin in the 7th West Virginia helped to repel the assault of the Louisiana Tigers.

image

As I write this, I sit behind the 1st Maryland (2nd) Monument (Confederate). In the woods to my right, sometime near this exact moment, a Moore relative probably sat, waiting for what would come next. Sometime after 10 a.m., Warren F. Moore was in the assault up Culp’s Hill, toward what was then Spangler’s Field (now, Pardee Field). Before making the advance, the commanding officer of the Maryland Battalion referred to what was to come, for his men, nothing less than… “murder”.

image

Moore was from a branch of my family which remained “eastern Marylanders”, while my branch became “western Marylanders”… both descended from two brothers… their respective grandfathers. My branch was Unionist, while Warren F. Moore’s branch was Confederate.

image

Though Warren wasn’t going to clash with his first cousins here, he would face fellow Marylanders from the Eastern Shore.

Moore was killed… probably somewhere just to my left, in that field I mentioned above.

It amazes me… moves me… to consider my cousin’s story, coupled with the fact that family members, so closely related, could have sentiments that clashed. I have no idea if these people… first cousins to each other… were even aware of the other being of different sentiment, but when we think of it… both the name and the “blood” was the same.

I think the story of “Grace” adds perspective in some way… here, and at least to me.

Grace was the mascot of the Confederate Marylanders, here. When the charge was made across the field, Grace sprung to the front of the charging men. Ultimately, she was cut down in the fighting that followed. At the end of the fight, the Union Marylanders found her, riddled but still alive. It was found particularly moving when she licked the hand of one of the Union men.

I may be slightly off with the details, but her dying actions appealed to her “enemies”. Union General Thomas Kane was one of those who was also moved. After she died, the Union Marylanders saw that she was given a respectful… Christian burial. One of the Union men noted that she, in fact, may have been the only Christian on both sides on that day.

I don’t know for a fact, but apparently Warren Moore was given enough respect as to have his grave marked, as he was eventually moved to the family plot at Leonardtown.

It’s good to be here, at this moment. Marking the time, I think I am 150 years to the hour before my cousin would fall.

