Lagging posts, and a conflicted writer

Posted on June 1, 2013 by

0


Yes, it’s been slow around here, and, having been in blogging now for over five years, I find it is a trend with me from latter spring, through summer. I’ll see if I can get it in gear, and do just a little better this summer than in previous years. One thing for sure, Gettysburg is within reach, and there will be some interesting things to discuss. Likewise, Craig Swain and I will be at the ‘burg, Tweeting and Facebook’ing our hearts out to share the “real time experience”, from July 1, 2, 3. We’ll see just how long the batteries in our smart phones hold-out.

Otherwise, I’m currently tweaking some details for another writing project and find myself… conflicted. When I started writing the draft (no more than a couple of paragraphs), I felt myself coming across more academic than as a storyteller. It’s funny how writing in a word processing platform does that to me, and yet, how different I am in a blog post. Weird.  In some ways, I think (I really do) that blogging has served to rewire my brain. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but, when it all boils down, I’d rather get “down in the dirt” and tell a story, interjected, of course, with good factual material. I guess what I need to do is to write as if I was blogging.

 

 

