My first glimpse at my contributions to “Lexington, Virginia and the Civil War”

Posted on March 17, 2013 by

8


Yesterday, I was very pleased to receive two copies of Richard Williams’ book, Lexington, Virginia and the Civil War, along with an additional item…

LexCiviWar

Richard was very kind in adding the gift of a very special pen, made partly from the wood of the Stonewall Jackson Prayer Tree, which once stood near Grottoes, but was fallen by strong winds, in 2011. Needless to say, an immediate family heirloom… and with family connections built in.

Sure, I was able to review the draft, but upon receipt I was quick to flip through the book to see how my contributions looked… and I thought I’d share a couple sneak-peaks…

The most lengthy contribution can be found in Chapter 2, on pages 36-45…

A glimpse at the opening contribution pertaining to Southenr Unionism

A glimpse at the opening contribution pertaining to Southern Unionism in Lexington and Rockbridge County

After that, pages 126-127, of Chapter 5, include some of my findings about locally born soldiers of the USCT…

LexCivWarUSCT

Richard even referenced some of my thoughts (as presented in this blog, here and here) regarding Levi Miller’s service with the Confederate army. Not to mention, there’s a little something of interest regarding African-American James Humbles, and a reference to his service as bugler of Co. C, 1st Virginia Cavalry.

I’ll add that this is a personal first… I’ve never appeared in a work as a “contributor”…

LexCivWarContr

 

If you want to read more, look for this title as one of the many fine works published by… The History Press.

 

