To be buried alive…

Posted on October 30, 2013 by

2


… was, of course, a very real fear in the 19th century.

In fact, in “The Premature Burial” (published first in the Philadelphia Dollar Newspaper, in 1844), Edgar Allan Poe tapped into those very real fears. You can read it here… or, if you prefer… listen to it, here…

I highly recommend the audio.

I hoped to share something about the topic as an occurrence, here in the Shenandoah Valley. The best I could do, however, was to find an article about a potential premature. The article appeared, as extracted from the Richmond Whig, in the October 3, 1845 edition of The Spirit of Jefferson. It seems interesting that the article appears a year after Poe’s “Premature Burial”.

BuryingAlive

Still, I’m left wondering if people who read this piece in The Spirit of Jefferson thought about Poe’s piece when they read this. Was Poe even one of the authors read in the Shenandoah Valley at the time? I know of at least one who read Poe… and left us proof that he read Poe… to include the horror it brought to his mind when he read it.

Look for my next post, tomorrow.

