Tragedy in the Shenandoah Valley… soon to be an e-book

Posted on April 20, 2012 by

2


Just received word, earlier today from the History Press, that my last book, Tragedy in the Shenandoah Valley: The Story of the Summers-Koontz Execution, is going to be made available as an e-book in the near future. Will pass along details when I know more. If you don’t have a hard-copy yet… now would be a good time to get one :)

If you are unfamiliar with it, the book goes into the story behind the postwar execution of George W. Summers and Isaac Newton Koontz… both formerly members of the Massanutten Rangers of Co. D, 7th Virginia Cavalry… Summers being the last captain/commander, and Koontz holding the rank of sergeant. The story is a blend of the uncertainty immediately following the war, along with local Southern Unionism… including that of Summers’ father. To top it off, Koontz was engaged when executed… to the woman who later become my third great grandmother.

I can’t believe it’s been almost six years since I published my last book… time to get back on the ball…

