Wading through life to get to the Civil War…

Posted on April 10, 2012 by

10


So… the balance of time between getting the new house prepared for moving in, and the old house for going on the market continues. Please pardon the absence of posts.

In the interim (also known as… in the midst of everything I’m doing to accomplish the above), there’s still much time for thinking… and I still think about the Civil War. Oh, yes… to be sure… how can I not? Even if it wasn’t the Sesqui, I’d be thinking about it… that’s just who I am. I just hope… I really hope… that some of the ideas that have bounced around in my head in the interim can return to the surface when I get back to blogging here on a regular basis.

All that said, something continues to ping on me. In the year’s time that has passed since we have entered the Sesqui, I have yet to be as enthralled with a single topic, as I was this time last year with the David Hunter Strother recollections of that time… which is now 151 years in the past.

I have to ask myself, “why so?”

When I mull over this question, I believe I have an answer. Funny as it seems, I don’t quite know why I haven’t thought about it before, but then… I suppose, being on the Sesqui timeline to recognize events of 150 years ago forces some of us to think harder on such matters.

So, what then, is the answer?

The best I can come up with is that I am more fascinated with that time (April 1861) because things were so much in the balance, at that time. They had not quite “gone over the edge of the cliff”, so to speak… especially for Virginia and Maryland… the place which was “home” for the majority of my ancestors. Though we, 151 years after the fact, are quite aware of what came after, that whole “living in the balance” thing never seems to diminish in me (and that’s part of the reason why… at least I think… Harpers Ferry never seems to grow old for me). It was a critical point in time, and, no matter what 150th event has come up over the horizon in the twelve months since… I’ve not been as enthusiastic about the topics as I was about the events of 151 years ago…

Perhaps, however, with considerations of the Sesqui of the 1862 Valley Campaign upon us, that will change… especially when I give consideration of the Valley Campaign from atypical angles… more about the civilians than about the soldiers… though certainly, the lives of those civilians, with Unionists or Confederate sympathies… or even the “leave-aloner’s”… was impacted by what the soldiers were doing here. There’s much to be considered…

