Мы должны таксировать блог немедленно!

Posted on August 24, 2010 by

7


We have intermissions here as well…

… yes, I know… what the heck is that in my header…?

Well, allow me to back up a bit. My “demonstration” in this post is aligned with the sentiments expressed by Andy in his post from the other day. It’s my way of voicing an opinion against anyone wanting to lay fees on the Web and its users (but, yes, I know, we are, as I write, being taxed and subjected to fees… not necessarily by our Internet carriers, but through our Internet carriers).

Anyway… as for the title of this post… it’s Russian (thank you Babel Fish) for “We must tax the blog immediately!”… and I’m using Russian in a manner that invokes the memory of the days of the Soviet Union (or contemporary China… take your pick… although I’d have to change the appearance of the title… 我们必须立刻收税网!). Now, granted, the freedom of the Web wouldn’t even be a thought under the old Soviet regime (most especially the absolute explosion of free speech seen in blogs… shameful :-)…), but, the suppression of the freedoms we all enjoy (or have the opportunity to enjoy) via the Web, ripped from us by taxes and fees, raises the blood pressure in any of us who understand just what level of freedom we enjoy/demonstrate here. Yes, I know, we don’t always agree here on the “playground.” My God, but the amount of opposition to ideas and expressions of opinion, back and forth, is, at times, exhausting enough in the Civil War blogosphere! As long as it doesn’t go over the line and involve slander and maliciousness (sometimes/often written with no foundation of truth), and lead to the harm (mental or physical) of others, I think it’s generally all good. Let’s just keep it within the framework of civilized interaction (albeit human interaction via the Web isn’t your typical person-to-person interaction you would always see in the flesh). But, I’m digressing, significantly… so…

This may be the most freedom of expression we have yet to experience… I’d dare say, even more than what we may see demonstrated at the voting polls… it’s even more significant because it isn’t just demonstrated at election time, and the numbers doing the demonstrating exceed those who go to the polls (don’t ask me for stats… I’m guessing, but really believe this). I mean, where else in history have the people as a whole had independent power to express themselves in a public forum to this scale? The opportunity to publish in books, magazines, and newspapers… that was all limited, as not everybody had the opportunity to take advantage of such forums, but this, THIS, is different.

I don’t care who you are… Republican, Democrat, Independent, or general political freak… if you want to play with the national (I’d say International, but I’m directly addressing any attempts within our country, as in the case of the silly attempt proposed by the “City of Brotherly Love”) playground that is the Web, those making such suggestions are giving the impression that they are 1) ignorant of the technology (it isn’t the telephone), 2) ignorant of the manner in which the Web empowers the people (do you really think we’re that stupid?), and 3) lining themselves up as a suspect for attempting to suppress free speech. The Web is not simply a “communication device”… far from it… but more accurately, free speech realized on such a level that those in high places don’t quite know how to deal with… but their trying… and ticking us off.

O.k., if you haven’t sensed it yet, brace for the infuriation…

O.k., end of rant…

