Southerners who would not “fight for a government that had helped keep their part of the country down for so long”

Posted on August 9, 2010 by

39


For some reason, I’m getting an error message when trying to reply to a comment made on the post at Inconvenient South which I referred to a short time back… the one about Southerners and the First World War. So, I’m carrying it over here to address the comment made by Dick Stanley. Since he has landed in my blog recently with a couple of comments, I figure this post might facilitate further discussion that seemingly cannot be had (because of technical difficulties, I’m guessing) at Inconvenient South.

So, my question is in reference to his remark…

“I can see why some Southern men would not be in a hurry to rush off to France to fight for a government that had helped keep their part of the country down for so long.”

I have to ask… Is this simply the way you see things now, or is a statement made by you based on what you have seen said by many, some, or a few of them back then? I ask because there is nothing in the clip from the article that David cited that states that “they” were of the opinion that they would not “fight for a government that had helped keep their part of the country down for so long.” Please provide specific examples, and show that it was representative of some segment of the Southern population.

