A scene from “The Colt”: a one-on-one encounter, and Southern Unionism

Posted on August 3, 2010 by

0


I had planned on continuing along my recently staked-out digital history path today, but time being short today, I’ll need to put that off till later this week. Still, wanting to continue some sort of flow on the blog, I do have just enough time to post something about a movie I’ve been meaning to write about for quite some time. Now, The Colt (2005) isn’t exactly the most historically accurate film, but… well, allow me to be specific… From the get-go, in the opening frames of the film (not pictured below), there are huge problems with the cannon that is used, and then later, with some details in the uniforms. Then too, not all of the acting is top-notch (although I do like the acting of the guy playing Trooper Rabb) and there is some cheesy dialogue in some segments… but overall, it does have, I believe, an interesting story line with some excellent surprises interwoven into the story.

One of my favorite scenes in the film can be seen below… and it is one of my favorite for two reasons. First, I think the one-on-one situation with the trooper from South Carolina touches an aspect of the war we don’t see often enough, and secondly, beginning around frame 6:36 we see an encounter between Rabb and a Virginian who quietly admits to being a Union man. Go figure… something about Southern Unionism tucked away as one of those surprises/”Easter eggs” in the film. Look for somewhere around frame 8:30, where the Virginia farmer mentions something about his health, and that, otherwise, he would have been helping Rabb capture Richmond. Now, that’s something we really get little chance to see…

