“It’ll tickle yer innards”

Posted on March 24, 2010 by

10


Yes, I’ve been quiet for a bit, but… I’m more of a mind to chat when there is something to actually chat about…

I’ve recently taken notice of the $125,000 Joseph E. Johnston statue at Bentonville and… uhhhhhh… I think it detracts more than adds to Bentonville. To each his own, but really…

First, it’s certainly not the quality likeness found in the 1912 statue in Dalton, Georgia; second, from what I have seen, I think there are some contemporary agenda-driven reasons why it is there and they don’t so much focus on Johnston or the battle as much as they do on the hiccups in Civil War memory (“Defender of the Southland to the End”… indeed! Certainly, the Confederacy, but…); third, wouldn’t that money do more good for other Civil War era “living” items? Which leads me to four… it just doesn’t “tickle my innards.” Now, if you were to take the remnants of what is “living” at Civil War battlefields… the land, the monuments that were there when the veterans grouped around them, and (whether at the nearby museum or elsewhere) the flags… all that is worthy of the money. That stuff sends chills up and down my spine and gives me an opportunity to perform some sort of “breach of time” and put me a little closer to that which tends to drive my historical interests. Flags are in need of preservation, hallowed ground needs to be preserved, and the monuments that were present when the veterans were around need care. Bottom line… it’s silly how much money is being soaked into these contemporary monuments when that money could go a really long way in taking care of the places and things that offer us virtual portals in time.

As Forrest Gump would say… “that’s all I have to say about that.” Well… maybe…

