Dropping the “thumbs-up, thumbs-down” rating option…

Posted on September 1, 2009 by

3


A little while back, I noted, courtesy of Harry at Bull Runnings, that WordPress gave bloggers the option of implementing a “thumbs-up, thumbs-down” rating option for readers. I figured that I would give it a try, but the opportunity for readers to rate without bothering to make commentary is not in the best interests of the social Web… which blogging is part of… and it certainly doesn’t do anything to stimulate thoughtful discussion. To me, stimulating thoughtful and meaningful discussion is a major part of blogging for quite a few people, myself included. I received a one-star rating by someone in my most recent two posts (in response to my centennial plate post and the post about “Turncoat Virginians”)… and the trend continued (I’m guessing from the same lurker) with my comments (and a comment made by one of my regular readers). I would say that I could care less, but, actually it does matter… the one star without commentary doesn’t really mean anything. It’s nothing but a hollow expression of disagreement telling us that the anonymous person making the rating can’t actually offer anything worthwhile to counter the post. Sure, this person used this feature to show disagreement (I suppose to the extreme, considering the rating of one star). If one feels that strongly, he/she needs to clarify why… and more importantly offer thoughtful commentary that actually means something and offers something to the discussion.

Posted in: blogging