“The rumors of my death have been greatly exagerated”

Posted on August 25, 2009 by

15


Well, the Google bots might disagree and see my absence from the blogosphere as “virtual death,” but I am here!

Thanks to all those who sent emails and inquiries asking “Where is Robert?! I appreciate them and miss the exchanges in which we regularly engaged in. I look forward to ramping things up. Nonetheless, things are still going to be a bit slow. Almost three months after graduating, I’m still looking for a job, but then I’ve realized that it is necessary to expand my search area. As hard as I have tried, the job market for tech folks just isn’t great in the central and southern Shenandoah Valley… and in Charlottesville, I’ve found that it is an employer’s market. They are looking for more people with more experience and I’m just trying to break into the industry… so my search has expanded to the northern end of the Valley and points east and north of the northern Valley.

While the job search dominates a good bit of my time, catching-up on work around the house is also taking a major part of my time… especially as I anticipate a move at some point. I don’t look forward to pulling up “chocks” on a place I’ve resided at for over ten years (the longest, by the way, that I have resided in a location!), but the thought of removing (possibly) to the northern Valley is something that I have considered for quite a while. For many years, I’ve yearned for a place in the historic triangle (ok, not exactly a triangle, but close enough) that is the stretch of land that is between Martinsburg, Hagerstown, and Gettysburg. We’ll see what happens…

Anyway, with all of this stuff going on, I haven’t been posting because I haven’t felt that I had the time to respond to comments in the manner in which I should. Of course, I also realized last summer that I just didn’t feel as ambitious about blogging in the summer months as I do in the other three seasons of the year. On top of that, I’m still a victim of dial-up… and after having access to some incredibly high-speed computers at JMU, I’m spoiled. Once I land a job, I look forward to remedying that asap!

O.K…. enough excuses.

I do have some things to share in the coming weeks regarding some interesting perspectives on being Southern and not necessarily Confederate. They are actually the perspectives of Virginians from the Civil War era. Additionally, I have a few “show and tell” items that will be of interest as well as a “what I did on summer vacation” post (after all, it is the time of the year for “back-to-school stuff”)… all have to do with the Civil War. Oh! and yes… I need to get back to my analysis of my Confederate ancestors.

So, if you are still stopping by in search of a post… look forward to some new posts to come. If you haven’t stopped by in a while, I hope you will soon be visiting again on a regular basis. Thanks!

Posted in: blogging