War Crimes Against Southern Civilians

Posted on March 11, 2008 by

6


I remember sometime back receiving notification about the release of the book, War Crimes Against Southern Civilians. I didn’t purchase it but the first thing that crossed my mind when I saw the title was that this was yet another addition to the growing “self-help hate the Yankees” stack of books. From what I have read about it, my thoughts seem justified. However, while 200 + pages of this book reveal horrors of war inflicted on Southern civilians by those “awful Yankees,” I can’t but help wonder when the second volume is coming – War Crimes Against Southern Civilians, the Other Side of the Story (or War Crimes Committed by Southerners Against Southern Civilians). If recommendations for stories are accepted, for starters, I’d like to suggest this story about Henry Tucker (*NOTE – THIS STORY IS NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN AS IT IS VERY GRAPHIC IN DETAIL). If that isn’t good enough (considering he was, after all, a Southerner who served in a Union unit and therefore, on a technicality, a soldier), I have some others worth being told.

But really… for more serious studies of this subject matter, I’d recommend Mark Grimsley’s The Hard Hand of War and Stephen V. Ash’s When the Yankees Came. In the meantime, continue to browse through some of those great stories in the rosters of the 1st Alabama Cavalry, USV.

*Related civilian atrocities/war crimes/depredations posts: 7/18/08, 12/2/08, 12/3/08, 12/5/08. Be sure to also see the Southern Unionists Chronicles blog.

