Hypertext non-fiction vs. Hypertext fiction

Posted on March 4, 2008 by

0


Just out of curiosity, I Googled “hypertext non-fiction” and then “hypertext fiction” to compare the number of hits that each would bring up. Remarkably, there were only 68 hits (though once I clicked on the second page of hits, I found only 23 active returns for the search. I should also note that when Googling “hypertext nonfiction”… “nonfiction” as one word as opposed to a hyphenated word… it resulted in 77 returns) for hypertext non-fiction compared to a remarkable 33,300 (which actually broadened to 53,900 returns once I started digging). I did find a couple of interesting links (about hypertext non-fiction) that look like they would be worth examining a bit more. Julianne Chatelaine’s paper, for example, mentions her involvement in the development of a software (Trellix), and then there was also an online syllabus from National Dong Hwa University (Taiwan) for the Spring of 2005 showing different forms of hypertext non-fiction that, to my great interest, linked to three Civil War websites, including The Valley of the Shadow. Clearly, hypertext non-fiction, as a practice (especially as it might be defined in terms of digital history) is wide open. However, considering the reluctance of many in the academic field to give a full-bodied nod to the practice of digital history, I suppose the lack (I should say, total absence) of references to hypertext non-fiction as it applies to digital history shouldn’t be surprising.

Posted in: Digital History