Hypertextualizing personal memory of the Civil War

Posted on March 1, 2008 by

0


After creating the category about my personal “memory” of the Civil War, I am left wondering if such memories can hypertextualized. But before I go on with this thought, let’s take a time out for a minute to see where I am going with this. NO, the historian isn’t losing his mind here. This bouncing back and forth between Civil War and Digital History (specifically hypertext theory) might be annoying for some; to read my standard line-up of the last ten posts and see me jump back and forth between topics about the Civil War and topics about hypertext-related things (and digital history) probably might even get confusing. Both, however, are interelated, some way or another and I’m just testing the potential of hypertext theory as an application of digital history. If this continues to be confusing for a reader, I recommend that the reader read only within the American Civil War category and subcategories.

In the wake of having read Landow’s Hypertext 3.0, after having reading several hypertext fictions (I especially enjoyed Shelley Jackson’s Patchwork Girl – don’t be offended by the accompanying graphic as the story is, after all, akin to Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein), and as I am faced with creating another project for Patchwork Girl, available through Eastgatemy Hypertext Theory graduate class, keep in mind that this is part of the creative thought process. So, again, thinking about historical “memory” as hypertextualized digital history… why not? After all, as we think back on events in our past, do we not, from time to time, stray from our original memory and find ourselves thinking about something else? Nevertheless, this straying from original thought may have been triggered by the memory of a particular object or person. One memory links to another – the same way in which one hyperlink connects to another in hypertext fiction. I might work with this a little more as I can certainly see the potential.

Posted in: Digital History